INFRAKTOR’s “Exhaust”

Originally posted on Valkyrian Music.


Gourmet is a word very popular nowadays – so popular that we even use it outside its food context, just for fun. As an adjective, it’s synonym of high quality; as a noun, it’s someone who’s quite the expert on both producing and consuming high quality stuff. I started using the expression “gourmet thrash” as a joke, but in light of these definitions, when applying them to thrash metal, they couldn’t be more accurate when it comes to INFRAKTOR – classy, top-notch tunes, performed by who knows damn well what they’re doing. I’ve known – and admired, I confess – most of them for over a decade, with their previous bands, but even if I could vouch in advance for their talented experience, the level of maturity in “Exhaust” is the sweetest icing on my expectation’s cake.

Preceded by a menacing intro and succeeded by a dark outro, the eight tracks INFRAKTOR bring to you also offer the tough choice of choosing a favorite (I often go for “Son Of A Butcher” but only because it was the first getting stuck in my head). The riffing of “Blood Of The Weak”, the overwhelming title-track, the shredding of “Inevitability Of Reason”(a.k.a. “I.O.R.”), the solo of “Ferocious Intent”… Speaking of, I was a tad apprehensive when I was told it would feature REVOLUTION WITHINRaçaHugo’s voice has a deeper resonance, but I was afraid it wouldn’t be enough to contrast with Raça’s sharper tone. Indeed it isn’t, but the combination of both in the chorus has such a powerful effect, living up to the song’s title – and the band’s motto – that it just makes sense. Plus, these are men who value their friendships so the “just makes sense” expression assumes a double play.

The outro features an excerpt of an Edmund Kemper interview and so I take the liberty to finish this review with a straightforward pun: “Exhaust” is a killer album.

Label: Rastilho Records

Producer: Miguel Tereso and INFRAKTOR


  1. Intro
  2. Blood Of The Weak
  3. Son Of A Butcher
  4. Exhaust
  5. Confront
  6. Speech Of Deceit
  7. Inevitability Of Reason
  8. Unleash The Pigs
  9. Ferocious Intent (feat. Rui “Raça” Alves)
  10. Outro

About Pieni

A metalhead who loves photography and her friends.
This entry was posted in CD reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to INFRAKTOR’s “Exhaust”

  1. Pingback: INFRAKTOR’s “Exhaust” release party @ Metalpoint, 2018/03/02 | Front Row Forever

  2. Pingback: INFRAKTOR @ Laurus Nobilis Music Famalicão, 2018/07/26 | Front Row Forever

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s